Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Prayers are Never too Small (part 2)

Leave a comment


Our God is an awesome God….

I am having the hardest time writing this morning because all my head keeps reverberating is, “God is an awesome God…” I love it yet it is so frustrating.

The essence of meditation is a period of time set aside to contemplate the Lord,
listen to Him, and allow Him to permeate our spirits.
~ Charles Stanley

When we pray we expect immediate deliverance from God, but why?

Your son asks for a cookie how often do you say, “Just a minute.”

Your daughter shrieks, “You promised to take me on a bike ride an hour ago,” with which you respond, “I’m very busy but almost ready.”

Your boss asked for that report yesterday but you don’t have it finished yet.

Your spouse wants to eat dinner at 5pm and now it is 6pm.

We do things on our time
so why would we expect
God’s time
to be any different.

So, do we stop praying because he doesn’t answer us on our time?

Is that four-letter word, “amen“, just not working for you anymore?

Have you hung up your line of communication to God?

Daniel never did

The following quoted material is shared from… http://www.truthnet.org/Daniel/Chapter10/

“Daniel Chapter 10 is an introduction to Daniel’s fourth and final vision.  Daniel’s fourth vision is spans chapters 10 to 12.  This section of Daniel takes place in the final stage of Daniel’s life, when Daniel is well into his 80’s.

Chapter 10 also removes the veil off the angelic and demonic struggle for nations.  Here we see the power of prayer in conjunction with God’s plan and purpose. The “Prince of Persia” is demonic force preventing a message from arriving to Daniel, who has been praying for 21 days. The message, which follows is Daniel11:2 to 12:4.”

Yes, as I said before, there is more… much more… to Daniel’s story than confronting a lion. He too had to invoke the power of prayer. He too used his humbled voice to say “amen” with each and every declaration.

You know that Daniel mourned for three weeks (21 days), and you know that he ate no celebratory food nor did he anoint himself. What Daniel did do was …

PRAY!

10 A hand touched me and set me trembling on my hands and knees. 11 He said, “Daniel, you who are highly esteemed, consider carefully the words I am about to speak to you, and stand up, for I have now been sent to you.” And when he said this to me, I stood up trembling.

12 Then he continued, “Do not be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them. 13 But the prince of the Persian kingdom resisted me twenty-one days. Then Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, because I was detained there with the king of Persia. 14 Now I have come to explain to you what will happen to your people in the future, for the vision concerns a time yet to come.”

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

