Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

I Need Thee Every Hour (conclusion)

Leave a comment


With the age of technology comes ever interesting entanglements of chance circumstances. I usually keep my contact information private, or restricted, so as to not allow unwanted people into my safe realm. Today I sat here, working on this blog, when a “beep” sounded and my Skype started bouncing for joy. Of course, distracted and curious, I had to click the happy little blue “S” to see who was trying to reach me. It was Ben! Good ol’ Ben! How I have longed to meet a guy in his relative 60’s + named Ben… okay, not really. But there he was. So, I thought, out of humbled kindness, instead of being rude I’d inquire, “Who are you? How do I know you?”  Ben, responded, “You do not know me but I want to get to know you.” I nearly gagged on the keys as I typed out, “Why? Who are you? How did you find me?” And that is when the deal with closed for me as he responded, “I saw your profile and fell in love.” My response was eloquent, as I like to be when I can be, “Off of a picture? Ben… You may be a wonderful man, with a heart of gold and pockets lined with parchment, but I am faithful woman in God and in that the Devil plays with me like a puppet. For that reason I trust in God’s protection and light to know when to say hello and when to say good bye. Please peacefully take a prayer from me for a blessed life and allow that to be our parting words. I am not open to outsiders coming within my realm as God has guided me to keep certain doors closed. Blessings to you and yours.” And the devil continued on his merry way….

Pastor Bill, “…

3. The Holy Spirit Will Be Fruitful

 

Galatians 5:22 We must live Life by the Spirit

13 You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh[a]; rather, serve one another humbly in love. 14 For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”[b] 15 If you bite and devour each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.

16 So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. 17 For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whatever[c] you want. 18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.

19 The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. 25 Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. 26 Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.

The Holy Spirit produces His fruit. The fruit test will help you. -As you follow Him, He will produce His fruit in your life. Read through Gal. 5:22 and ask yourself if what you are about to do, fits in one of them.

The Jesus test will help you. – As you follow Him, He will build into you the character of Jesus. (Rom. 8:29 For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of His Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.)

Is this like Jesus? Would Jesus do this? are questions to remember in 2013.

The faith test will help you. – As you follow Him, He will require you to exercise your faith to join God in what He is doing.

Am I relying on God to see this happen or myself? The Holy Spirit will always require you to rely on God instead of building your own ego.

The Holy Spirit knows all things, do you?

The Holy Spirit can empower you to overcome, do you need that?

The Holy Spirit is never at a loss of what to do, are you?

If you want your 2013 to be fruitful, then stay in line with the leadership of the Holy Spirit.

Conclusion: 2013 will be a blessing to you if you will follow the Holy Spirit, remember that God is faithful, and discerning when the devil is trying to dupe you.”

Mainstream lingo…

LOOK INTO THE LIGHT

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

