Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Call to Worship (part 4)

Leave a comment


Pastor Bill, “Live in the past, die in the past. Think about more of those headline news articles: Sandy Hook Elementary, Hurricane Sandy, Snowstorms Blanket New York Millions Without Power, East Coast Hit Hard… Headline number two that I am predicting for 2013 “God Brings Good Things out of Bad News.””

How can God brings something good out of something bad?

By now I have been through two court hearings – one for my divorce and one for the foreclosure on my house. At the time I sit here writing this blog entry I have no idea what the outcomes of these hearings are to be, but I can say that there will be some answers and progress forward. Will they be the answers I want or the answers that I allow to happen because it is simply the journey I am suppose to be on. Here is where you should sit back and ask yourself what good can come out of either of these situations for me. Both are life altering. Both are intensely scary. See, I gave it all up to God back in November, 2012 and since then I have had a peace that I’ve never felt before while going through my trials and tribulations. That is not to say I am completely emotionless through the journey, quite the contrary, but the moments of upset are far fewer and more controlled. What good can come from this is based on my faith in God, not a faith in mankind. By giving God my faith and trusting him to drive this car I have experienced:

Truth – something my marriage lacked

Light – a bonding with my children that I so wanted and they deserve

Faith – a bonding with my God that was there but weaker; this has grown in strength and resolve

Friends – you really learn who your friends are during periods of trials

Family – ditto from friends

So there is good that can come into a person’s life if they ALLOW good to come.

I think about those families, mainly the students, that survived Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting. Think about how their parents can help them through this tragedy and the good that can come, as well as the bad, dependent on their FAITH!

Will this direct impact on their lives alter them forever?

Absolutely.

Can the altering be in favor of God?

Absolutely.

Can this altering be good for our nation?

Absolutely.

Can this altering be good for society?

Absolutely.

But we must carry with us Trust, Belief, and Faith! That is our body armor and our shield among the darkness the encroaches.

We can make this headline come true but we must work together.

Pastor Bill, “If you ever wondered which bible I use it is the King James. Go out and get yourself one so you can follow along with me as I read Matthew 16:18, “And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it,” for those Loving Him and Answering the Call to His Purpose!”

Answering HIS call. You can sit there and stare. You can hear the ringing of the chimes. Do you answer?

It is not the big things you do but the daily things you do.

Pastor Bill, “You have the Greater One with the good news who will surpass the lessor one with the bad news. 1 John 4:4, “Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.”

You are greater when you carry your faith, your belief, and your trust in God on your shirtsleeve than those who carry him not at all.

Pastor Bill, “We need to see God at work helping people hit by the storm rather than trying to convince people God sent the storm to judge them. Romans 12:21, “Paul wrote to the Romans that we overcome evil with good. We do this because of the God who is good who lives within us.”

Numbers 22:22   And God’s anger was kindled because he went: and the angel of the LORD stood in the way for an adversary against him. Now he was riding upon his ass, and his two servants were with him.”

Will you be a servant of God and find the good within the bad?

Will you help kindle the anger by being an adversary of darkness allowing God’s light to shine?

Will you help make this headline a reality or sit on your laurels and see what happens?

Lights… Camera…ACTION!

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

