Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Broken for Me (conclusion)

Leave a comment


Fides = Faith

Proclaiming Faith…

Pastor Bill, “As you gather to worship this morning is it an expression of proclaiming your faith? Is coming together with God’s people a way …”

For many years I did not step foot inside of a church. My church family was birds, bees, flowers and trees. My Pastor was the plant I put in the ground or the harvest I pulled from it. Yet when asked I said I was of Christian faith, and when asked my church I sheepishly said “none”.

Did I have less faith because I did not attend a church?
Quite possibly, but I know that I still had faith.

I allowed God to shine through me and held his values to my heart like a treasure chest of endless possibilities. Only, I did forget to pray in times of thanks except when determined I should, and I did pray fervently when I needed something (like help). I suppose one could say it was a qualified relationship. You give to me when I need and I’ll remember to monitor my behavior by the values with which you set forth in the Bible. Only, when I screw up please don’t hold it against me because I am doing the best I can on my own.

No, God will not cast lightening rods at you for not attending church. Nor will you (at least according to the laws of the Bible) be judged for not attending a church regularly by your peers, as we are to leave the judging to God.

So… how is faith judged?

John 3:18 – 20

He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.

Faith is the light that guides you everyday, your thoughts, your actions, your accountability for the decisions you make. Does that mean, though, that you cannot err?

Broken World

Jenny’s got more month than she’s got money.
Works three jobs she’s barely getting by

Bob got word his Mom’s been told it’s cancer

So many questions and all of them ask why

Chorus: We’re living in a broken world

And a broken world won’t give you any answers

Everything is upside down

Wrong is right and right is wrong

But not for long no not for long

This broken world is cradled by a Savior

And nothing here can take Him by surprise

Someday all this hurting will be over

And every tears been wiped away and dried

But for now we’ve living in a broken world

But not for long

No not for long

Mama spends her wakin hours prayin

Her child’s done gone left everything behind

Daddy’s getting tired his faith is fadin

You can’t get water from a well that’s running dry

Chorus: We’re living in a broken world

And a broken world won’t give you any answers

Everything is upside down

Wrong is right and right is wrong

But not for long no not for long

This broken world is cradled by a Savior

And nothing here can take Him by surprise

Someday all this hurting will be over

And every tears been wiped away and dried

But for now we’ve living in a broken world

But not for long

No not for long

This broken world is cradled by a Savior

And nothing here can take Him by surprised

Someday all this hurting will be over

And every tears been wiped away and dried

But for now we’ve living in a broken world

But not for long

No not for long

But for now we’ve living in a broken world

But not for long

No not for long

FAITH!

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

