Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Broken for Me (part 2)

Leave a comment


Pesos – Credo

Trust – Believe

Isaiah 9:2
The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light: they that dwell in the land of the shadow of death, upon them hath the light shined.

Oh come on now, are you really going to take this scripture reading and tell me that I can walk in the shadow of death and still have light shined upon me? What will you do for a follow up act, pull out the Ouija board or have a séance?

This is not voodoo magic or some crackpot idea of a joke. This is for real. And Isaiah is not the only place we connect the dots of living life to living in the shadow of our own mortality.

The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want.
He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:
He leadeth me beside the still waters.
He restoreth my soul:
He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’ sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil: For thou art with me;
Thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.
Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies;
Thou annointest my head with oil; My cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the House of the Lord forever.

— KJV, 23rd Psalm

This reminds me of a blog post I wrote in the summer of 2011. I have faced ample, neighbor driven, drama and was feeling rather low. I had used the crux of this scripture as my guideline for the blog. After copying the scripture I went on to say that I am strong and will overcome the shadows of death and continue to walk through. Then I had the joy, a whole year later, to hear Pastor Bill say the same thing. You are not succumbing to death but walking through the shadows. The most interesting recollection of that blog was that someone actually read it and thought I was suicidal. The police were called to my house looking for me. I wasn’t there as I was at church and then went directly to a birthday party. I was absolutely livid and stopped blogging personally after that.

My Mother always said, “Don’t put anything in writing you don’t want the whole world to read.” And sometimes those words are very wise; but here I do want the whole world to read this. It is not about smoke and mirrors, or some magic pixie dust. It is about the fact that we all have mortality and we all walk our lives through the valley in the shadow of death.

I found this article interesting. You decide for yourself what to believe (Credo) and not to believe:

(http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2012/10/07/proof-of-heaven-a-doctor-s-experience-with-the-afterlife.html)

Dr. Eben Alexander is a neurosurgeon whom was in a coma for quite sometime. While there he experienced things that even he was unable to explain. He writes, “I know how pronouncements like mine sound to skeptics, so I will tell my story with the logic and language of the scientist I am.” His story he did go on to tell and what he found was that there is a valley and so much more. There is God’s world and we call it Heaven.

Why did Dr. Alexander live to tell his story?

Why did he decide to share his story knowing what this could do to his professional and personal life – self-destruction?

Pesos – Credo

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

