Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Now I Lay me Down to Sleep (part 5 – conclusion)

Leave a comment


The arguments…

But we are told we must not work.
Even in the bible the men who came to Jesus worked on God’s Sabbath.
How can they be honored if they, themselves, broke God’s commandment?

I have no other choice but to work on God’s Sabbath,
His seventh day of rest.
I have a family to feed, clothes to purchase.
How can I honor him and tend to my humanly demands?

 

Cease Starving, Know, Then Obey

 

The rebuttal…

Pastor Bill, “To enter God’s rest requires we abide in full surrender to His will, in perfect trust of His power. We learn to rest from our works “as God did from His” (Hebrews 4:10). To “rest from our labors” does not mean we have stopped working; it means we have stopped the laborious work of the flesh and sin. It means we have entered the eternal works that he brings forth through us.”

So it is okay to work to feed my family on Sunday, as long as I release myself into God’s powerful grasp fleecing my flesh and sins. But…

Let go?

Of Everything?

We just “trust” Him without question?

 

That is so incredibly hard, because I question everything and everyone. What if I cannot do this? Just let it all go?

Will God ever forgive me?

Pastor Bill, “The turmoil caused by unbelief is brought to rest by faith. The strife rooted in unforgiveness is removed by love. Our fearful thoughts, He arrests through trust’ our many questions are answered by His wisdom. Such is the mind that has entered the rest of God.”

So God understands my doubts, my questions, and accepts them as long as I accept God’s answers fully, completely, garnished with trust. That I can do. That is as simple as deciding to allow God to rest his spirit within my body not just one day a week, but everyday.

It is like my parents used to tell me, and as I would tell my parents – obey me, trust me, and listen to me. I am wiser and am here to help you, protect you, and raise you. God is not just a figure to value your life after, but he is the ultimate parent to one and all, thus as you rest within your dwelling God rests within you, me.

Obey

Trust

Listen

Pastor Bill, “The Church needs to possess the knowledge of God’s ways, for herein do we enter His rest (Hebrews 3:8-12). We gain such knowledge through obedience to God’s word during conflicts. As we obey God through the testing’s of life, we learn how to deal with situations as God would. Consequently, it is of the utmost value to hear what God is speaking to us, and especially so when life seems to be a wilderness of hardship and trials.”

I must stop here. Maybe a bit of a diversion, but it feels that this is where I must stop, I am compelled to mark this section.

12 lives lost and 58 hanging in physical balance. A myriad of families, friends, and an entire nation was completely shifted from its axis on July 20, 2012 by one man. Through this bitter tragedy of losing so many lives and so much innocence, God has stood patiently holding out his hand and raining comfort among those most directly effected. So many will not understand the hardships and trials that we as human’s face when we can so easily stand on the sidelines of such horror while others are immersed deep within its tidal wave of red. It is within this effect of drowning that these men and women stand on the deck of the boat and scream for Jesus to save them, instead of turning their backs on the only one who can.

After so many other similar tragedies (from 9/11 to Columbine) I would hear many others and myself asking why are we spending so much time on the perpetrator(s) and none on the victims? Followed daftly with “how could God allow this to happen”.

Today though, the stories are running differently, and the face of our nation is slowly altering. We are gaining knowledge and focusing less on the evil and more on those that suffered at the hands of such evil. Infamy is placed upon those that have joined God in his Heaven; and those that are still suffering here, facing the tragedy fully conscience, are not chastising God but lifting their spirits to him in prayerful request for support. They are no longer letting their ship sink and evil to take control of the helm, but they are giving unto God the power to navigate them to the next stage, the sea of glass, like crystal.

This is not a mere coincidence… This is God.

Pastor Bill, “Therefore, just as the Holy Spirit says, “Today if you hear His voice, do not harden your hearts as when they provoked Me, as in the day of trial in the wilderness. … Therefore I was angry with this generation, and said, “They always go astray in their heart, and they did not know My ways’; as I swore in My wrath, ‘They shall not enter My rest’” (Hebrews 3:7-8, 10-11).

He says, “They always go astray in their heart … they did not know My ways … they shall not enter My rest.”

Let us understand: knowing God’s ways leads to His rest.

We must see that there is no rest in a hardened heart. There is no rest when we rebel against God. Our rest comes from becoming honest about our needs and allowing Christ to change us.”

God is not kicking you to the curb in Hebrews. He is setting the stage for entrance. He is giving you the tools, the handbook, step by step-full-color-detailed instruction manual to enter his gates and to ride a boat that will not sink in the apocalypse. Your job, is to build it by allowing God to rest within you.

Obey

Trust

Listen

Pastor Bill, “Thus Jesus said, “Learn from Me… and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:29). Stop fighting with God and learn from Him. Let His word put to death the torments of the sin nature. Cease struggling; cease wrestling against the Blessed One. TRUST HIM! For eventually His word will plunder the defenses of your heart. Be committed to your surrender. In time, He shall no longer use adversity to reach your heart, for you shall delight in being vulnerable to Him. Continue your diligent yielding until even His whisper brings sweet trembling to your soul. Far more precious than the men of a hundred nations is one man perfectly given to the Spirit of God. This man is God’s tabernacle, the one to who God looks … and with whom He is well pleased.

He says, “Heaven is My throne and the earth is My footstool. Where then is a house you could build for Me? And where is a place that I may rest? For My hand made all these things, thus all these things came into being “ (Isaiah 66:1-2). Yet, incredibly, one man with one quality of heart captures the attention and promise of God. “But to this one I will look, to him who is humble and contrite of spirit, and who trembles at My Word” (verse 2).

God looks to the man who trembles when He speak. For in him the holy power of the Most High can, without striving, abide in perfect peace. He has learned the ways of God; he delights in obedience. He has chosen to give God what He asks” nothing less than all he is. In return, this man becomes a place, a holy place, where God Himself can rest.”

 

Obey

Trust

Listen

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

