Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Now I Lay me Down to Sleep (part 1)

1 Comment


Now I lay me down to sleep,

I pray the Lord my soul to keep,

If I die before I wake,

I pray the Lord my soul to take.

Where do you lie down to sleep?
Where do you rest?
Do you rest when you want?

Have you ever thought about where He rests?

Pastor Bill has been called by others, even himself, a great many things, from hippie to low life to master artesian and spinner of words. One thing that he is never accused of is being anything but him self. So when he asks a question there is never an easy way of avoiding the opportunity to look at the answer from a variety of avenues, but mostly from in the darkest of recesses of your own faith.

 

Pastor Bill asked, “Where does God rest?” The answer seems quite simple, right? God never rests. He has an entire world to tend to. People awake 24/7/365, animals, forests, highways, and homes that all require some sort of attention day and night.

Trouble has even brood in our very own worship halls requiring God’s hand of action to qualm the stormy tides before the church was lost at the seas of strife. This strife didn’t exist in just the past 4 years, 14 years, but as far back as the building was raised from the dirt of the Earth – 162 years ago.

It is not the buildings that God seeks to tend. It is not the inanimate objects around us that keep Him busy. It is all things living, all those whom occupy the buildings, that God must cultivate.

 Join me as we find the true answer to “A Place for Him to Rest”.

 Pastor Bill, “In the Kingdom, there are no great men of God, just humble men whom God has chosen to use greatly. How do we know when we are humble?”

 Are you humble?

Are you humble always?

Are you humble only in the Lord’s home?

What does being humble have to do with a resting place for God?

Hum·ble

adjective

1. not proud or arrogant; modest: to be humble although successful.

2.  having a feeling of insignificance, inferiority, subservience, etc.: In the presence of so many world-famous writers I felt very humble.

3. low in rank, importance, status, quality, etc.; lowly: of humble origin; a humble home.

4. courteously respectful: In my humble opinion you are wrong.

5. low in height, level, etc.; small in size: a humble member of the galaxy.

verb (used with object)

6.  to lower in condition, importance, or dignity; abase.

7. to destroy the independence, power, or will of.

8. to make meek: to humble one’s heart.

Pastor Bill, “Answer: When God speaks, we tremble. God is looking for a man, or a woman, who trembles at His words. Such a person will find the Spirit of God resting upon him; he will become a dwelling place for the Almighty.”

Ah-Ha!

God “rests” in the humble person.

God “rests” in the person that “trembles” at His words.

But isn’t trembling fearing Him?

Why would God want me to fear him?

trem·ble

verb (used without object)

1. to shake involuntarily with quick, short movements, as from fear, excitement, weakness, or cold; quake; quiver.

2. to be troubled with fear or apprehension.

3. (of things) to be affected with vibratory motion.

4. to be tremulous, as light or sound: His voice trembled.

 noun

5. the act of trembling.

6. a state or fit of trembling.

7. trembles, ( used with a singular verb )

  • Pathology . milk sickness.

  • Veterinary Pathology . a toxic condition of cattle and sheep caused by the eating of white snakeroot and characterized by muscular tremors.

God is not asking you to suffer “fear” at His words. The act of “trembling” can be excitement, honor, praise, joy. It is an action and that action can be as much positive as negative.

Look at this again, now that you are armed with more information, more thoughts, and definitions.

God “rests” in the humble person who trembles at His words = God “rests” in the person who is so deeply touched that God would speak to him he shakes with joy.

Would you like to rest in a place where everyone around you is so pleased you are there that they physically show their exuberance?

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

One thought on “Now I Lay me Down to Sleep (part 1)

  1. I have literally just finished reading “As I lay me down to sleep.”It was a real life book written by the author about her own life in the care system in the late sixties and into the late 70’s. I bought this book back in 2008, and thought I should start to look at some of my older books in my to read pile.This book I think was written as a catharsis for the woman who had suffered these terrible things in a system that was supposed to be there to safe guard her. I am sure her story will help many others.I found some parts hard to read as I myself had been more or less left to raise myself, and had had involvement with social workers and fosters families when I was a child, it brought back a lot of past uglies for me, but it was well written.I do not normally go for this kind of book for the reasons I listed above, and i am not sure if I will go out of my way to read another again for a while. I cried at her story in several places and understood her fears in others.All in all, a good book, but very disturbing. Thank you Eileen for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

