Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Polka Dotted Underwear (part 2)

Leave a comment


DO YOU STILL KNOW HOW TO BLUSH?

 

Pastor Bill, “Jeremiah 6:15 Were they ashamed when they had committed abomination? nay, they were not at all ashamed, neither could they blush: therefore they shall fall among them that fall: at the time that I visit them they shall be cast down, saith the Lord.

Pastor, “Have you noticed how the moral climate of our society has shifted in the last few years?  More and more people are living in open sin, and they don’t think a thing about it.

What’s the big deal about hemorrhage, or cheating on your spouse, or stealing from the government, or lying to get ahead at work, or bailing on your family?  Who are you to tell me that what I am doing is wrong? I am not telling you. I am reading to you from the main book of values. I am telling you the stories from the B-I-B-L-E. Anyone can get their marching orders from the same place, and tell the stories too, but you are here, listening to me tell you what the Bible says.

The Bible says, This is the way of an adulterous woman: she eats and wipes her mouth, and says, ‘I have done no wrong’ Proverbs 30:20. 

The adulterous woman is like the growing number of people in our world today: a people who have forgotten how to blush.”

 

CAN YOU FEEL THE SHAME?

When is the last time you blushed not because you were caught but because you knew what you did was not the right choice?

Maybe it is not the actual physical act of rosy red cheeks but of the ability to feel the shame that comes with an action you have committed and then taking the steps to correct it without being caught. That is what God wants. He does not expect you to be perfect 100% of the time, that is His job. What he expects is that when you fall to human frailties you accept your choice, you own your choice to those that you have wronged, and you make amends before someone calls you out.

Before Someone Calls You Out

Pastor, “One of the marks of a hardened heart is the inability to feel shame and conviction of the Holy Spirit.  If you can sin BIG TIME and not feel the sting of the Lord’s displeasure, something is very wrong inside.”

 

Do you even know how to define a sin?

Can you picture your child, or yourself as a child, looking up to the parent, “I didn’t do it.” The earnest phrase spills like water from a glass onto the souls of the child casting aside all care just so they do not face the rebut of their choices.

Yet one person always knows the truth, actually two, but the first one we cannot argue with for he is God. You can try to sell him on your words but his knowledge goes much deeper. It caresses your soul bring forth all the emotion that your silly little tale leaves behind, or the damage of your actions. And if God is able to get through you’ll blush in shame and embarrassment.

If God is unsuccessful, for you have denounced his existence in your life, you have only one other person to get beyond and that is the Mother. Some how they always seem to know whether what you are delivering is the truth or a lie. No shame has to be present on your face, but there also may be no consequences to your actions. Mom’s love their children so much that they want to deeply believe in their words so despite what nags at their heartstrings and burns their eardrums, they walk away buying what was sold.

But these lies… they never last. The truth always comes out. And then those that did not have God in their heart, the Mom nipping at their actions, blush for they were caught in two wrongs: a devious act and lying about said act. The Mom cannot help you get to Heaven. Heaven comes only by the grace of God.

God shakes his head, saddened.

Pastor, “Peter was one who boasted and bragged that he was ready to go with the Lord to prison and even to death.  He said all the other disciples may deny Christ, but he would NEVER deny Him.  As you know, however, he did deny him… not once… not twice… but three times in a row.  And after the third denial, punctuated with cursing and swearing to prove he didn’t know Him, the Bible says, “And the Lord turned and looked at Peter … and he [Peter] went out and wept bitterly.”  He could feel the shame.

Peter had failed miserably.  But praise God, he didn’t blow it off as not a big deal.  He still knew how to blush, to feel shame and the conviction of the Holy Spirit. 

Do you?

 

FEELING THE SHAME
SO YOU CAN FEEL NO SHAME

 

Pastor Bill, “Does God want us to live in shame? 

Absolutely not! 

But, He wants us to feel the shame and to come out of the deception that our sins are “no big deal” so that we can get right with Him.”

How can we accomplish this goal?
It seems so incredibly hard.
I’ve made so many mistakes in my life,
hurt people that I care about,
and said things I regret.
I don’t even know if I can remember it all.
So, how can I fix this wrong and make it right?

 

Pray!

Be honest!

Own what you can in earnest!

And God will hear you.
If it is true of heart, soul, and mind
you will be forgiven.

 

If true of heart, soul, and mind your ability to conquer the “next” time will be as simple as snapping your fingers or kissing your palm.

Do not misguide yourself to think that a simple admission will free you of repeat offenses, but it helps to reduce the likelihood of happening again. This takes conscious effort sometimes, but I the end it will be all worth the work.

Think of it this way, it’s your daily spiritual 5K. Now go sweat it out and kicks its butt.

Pastor Bill, “When I was a child I would come home to my Mom and when she asked me a question I would weight whether to be honest or lie. At first it was one small lie here or there. Each time, when I got done telling her, I’d run to the bathroom and look at my tongue in the mirror. Do you know why I did that?” A church of silent parishioners sat staring back at Bill as though he’s as nuts as ever.

“When I was young my Mom said that if I were to lie my tongue would turn black. So, I ran in the bathroom, stuck out my tongue, and watched to see if it would turn black. It never did, so I realized that my Mom was wrong. With that my lies become bigger and more often. Until I found my shame.

The Lord looked into my soul, into my heart, and told me that it is true I do not have a black tongue, what I have is a heart of stone. To free myself of this burden brought by shame, lies, misdeeds, I must allow God into my life, and follow the truth as well as live the truth. I must trust him to help me when the seas are ragged. I just need to ask and he’ll stand at the bow of my ship to cast out the words, “Quiet! Be still!” and all will be right again.”

This subject matter, all of it, hits so deeply close to my personal home. Lies just plan hurt. Not just the people receiving the lies but the person delivering them. These people, quite often, have no question about their actions until God stands at the bow of the recipients ship and yells to them, out in the sea, “Quiet! Be still!” And then they deliverer hears for the first time that they have damaged a fragile ship filled with cargo that is bound for a private island shared by two or a family.

Lies are simply self-serving and God asks that you serve not yourself but those that are around you. Use his guidance to find the answers and cast forth the truth for it is in the truth that we form trust and in trust the seas remains calm.

A heart that so easily casts out lies without though or guilt of the face in the mirror is a heart made of stone. And those hearts sink in the torrential storms for stones do not float.

How do we know we should feel shame for our actions?

 

 

 

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

