Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

SHE SEES IN YOU WHAT NO ONE ELSE DOES (Moms)

Leave a comment


Pastor Bill…

Like a painter who may confuse others while he is painting a canvas.
Onlookers gawk and gaze trying to figure out what he is painting.
What will it be?
Yet, the painter sees it fully – in his mind.

It is something that is created within him first
and placed before men later.
It is the same with a mother.
She sees in her child what others cannot see.
The child proceeded from her.
The child was created within her.

She always sees the best, the possibilities, the potential.
That is why our mothers are our biggest cheerleaders.

They believe deep inside that we are winners.

In our failure they still see our potential,
just like God did when he spoke over Adam and Eve in the Garden
concerning their future redemption through a child of their own.

Mary pondered in her heart all the things she had seen.
She came to Jesus at a wedding.
He turned water into wine.
She knew what was in him.

As a Mom I know I see in my kids the things that nobody else sees. Sometimes things that even their own Dad or relatives don’t see. I suppose it is because I am afforded the luxury to stay home and spend so much time with them, or maybe it is because of my own upbringing that I have a different level of focus on just who my kids are, or maybe it is a universal Mom language that we are gifted with by God from the day we were created to be a women.

Please understand that I am not the kind of Mom that sits back on her loral and says, “Not my kid.” Nope, ask either of the older boys and they’ll be the first to pipe up with, “Mom would be the first to our side of rescue and the first to throw us under the bus if we truly deserve to be there.” I’m a non nonsense kind of Mom. You do the crime, you do the time. I don’t want to see my kids make mistakes or fail because I know just how amazing, smart, wonderful, and how much God put of himself into each one. At the same time, we are still human and mistakes is part of our thick brained learning process; which means, unfortunately, there will be consequences along the road. I just rather have the mistakes happen when they are younger and the consequences are not so life shattering.

Through it all, though, I will still see the beauty and kindness in each of my children. I know their hearts. I know their personalities. I know their desires. I know these things, these intimate and private details, because I pay attention to them. I openly talk to them. And I thank God for his wisdom and guidance each step of the way. As said before, there are no books, but one – the Bible.

Proverbs 10:1 ESV The proverbs of Solomon. A wise son makes a glad father, but a foolish son is a sorrow to his mother.
Proverbs 15:20 ESV A wise son makes a glad father, but a foolish man despises his mother.
Proverbs 19:26-27 ESV He who does violence to his father and chases away his mother is a son who brings shame and reproach. (27) Cease to hear instruction, my son, and you will stray from the words of knowledge.

Beth (not me, the other Beth)…

BEFORE I WAS A MOM

Before I was a Mom,
I never tripped over toys or forgot words to a lullaby.
I didn’t worry whether or not my plants were poisonous.
I never thoughts about immunizations.

Before I was a Mom,
I had never been puked on,
Pooped on,
Chewed on,
Or peed on.
I had complete control of my mid and my thoughts.
I slept all night.

Before I was a Mom,
I never held down a screaming child so doctors could do tests,
Or give shots.
I never looked into teary eyes and cried.
I never got gloriously happy over a simple grin.
I never sat up late hours at night watching a baby sleep.

Before I was a Mom,
I never held a sleeping baby just because I didn’t want to put her down.
I never felt my heart break into a million pieces when I couldn’t stop the hurt.
I never knew that something so small could affect my life so much.
I never knew that I could love someone so much.
I never knew I would love being a Mom.

Before I was a Mom,
I didn’t know the feeling of having my heart outside my body.
I didn’t know how special it could feel to feed a hungry baby.
I didn’t know that bond between a mother and her child.
I didn’t know that something so small could make me feel so important and happy.

Before I was a Mom,
I had never gotten up in the middle of the night every 10 minuts to make sure all was okay.
I had never known the warmth,
the joy,
the love,
the heartache,
the wonderment,
Or the satisfaction of being a Mom.
I didn’t know I was capable of feeling so much,
before I was a Mom.

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

