Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

The Sweetest Place on Earth

Leave a comment


We will continue this week with our praise of Moms. Thus we will be posting a little off our routine, but will return next week to our regular schedule.

Pastor Bill, “Yes, in the arms of our mother is one of the sweetest places on earth.”

2. SHE HOLDS YOU BECAUSE SHE WANTS TO.

Most Wanted!
The FBI keeps a “most wanted” list of the people they 
really want to catch.
Now their motive is justice not love.

But Mother wants us and her motive is love.

There is a yearning deep in the human heart to be desired by someone else. It is very powerful and compelling.

When a person fills that need in a heart, it is easy to love.

We enjoy being accepted and wanted.

Studies in the last century proved that babies left unattended in an orphanage would die from lack of human touch.

We were created to respond to touch.

A mother’s touch forms the foundation of so much of our emotional foundation.

Unwanted children suffer.

What a sweet place it is to be in the arms of a loving mother wanting life’s best for her child.

Don’t you know Mary wanted to hold Jesus. It was afterward, when his body had ceased breathing, that she was able to hold him.

Ann and Ada shared this story about Moms:

My mother taught me to appreciate a job well done – “If you’re going to kill each other, do it outside. I just finished cleaning.”

My mother taught me religion – “You better pray that will come out of the carpet.”

My mother taught me about time travel – “If you don’t straighten up, I’m going to knock you into the middle of next week!”

My mother taught me about logic – “If you fall out of that swing and break your neck, you’re not going to the store with me.”

My mother taught me about foresight – “Make sure you wear clean underwear, in case you’re in an accident.”

My mother taught me about irony – “Keep crying, and I’ll give you something to cry about.”

My mother taught me about the science of osmosis – “Shut your mouth and eat your supper.”

My mother taught me about contortionism –  “Will you look at that dirt on the back of your neck!”

My mother taught me about stamina – “You’ll sit there until all that spinach is gone.”

My mother taught me about weather – “This room of yours looks as if a tornado went through it.”

My mother taught me about hypocrisy – “If I told you once, I’ve told you a million times, don’t exaggerate!”

My mother taught me the circle of life – “I brought you into this world, and I can take you out.”

My mother taught me about behavior modification – “Stop acting like your father!”

My mother taught me about envy – “There are millions of less fortunate children in this world who don’t have wonderful parents like you do.”

My mother taught me about anticipation – “Just wait until we get home!”

My mother taught me about receiving – “You are going to get it when you get home!”

My mother taught me about medical science – “If you don’t stop crossing your eyes, they are going to freeze that way.”

My mother taught me about ESP – “Put your sweater on; don’t you think I know when you are cold?”

My mother taught me about humor – “When that lawn mower cuts off your toes, don’t come running to me.”

My mother taught me how to become an adult – “If you don’t eat your vegetables, you’ll never grow up.”

My mother taught me about genetics – “You’re just like your father!”

My mother taught me about my roots – “Shut that door behind you. Do you think you were born in a barn?”

My mother taught me wisdom – “When you get to be my age, you’ll understand.”

And finally, my mother taught me about justice – “One day you’ll have kids, and I hope they turn out just like you!”

Proverbs 31:2 8 Her children rise up and call her blessed; Her husband also, and he praises her.

Proverbs 1:8-9 ESV Hear, my son, your father’s instruction, and forsake not your mother’s teaching, (9) for they are a graceful garland for your head and pendants for your neck.

Proverbs 6:20-22 ESV My son, keep your father’s commandment, and forsake not your mother’s teaching. (21) Bind them on your heart always; tie them around your neck. (22) When you walk, they will lead you; when you lie down, they will watch over you; and when you awake, they will talk with you.

Joyce shared these words of wisdom about Moms:

But there is reassurance in the story!

If you have persistently and lovingly tried to give children wisdom and they haven’t taken it, don’t be hard on yourself. If God had trouble raising children, what makes you think it would be a piece of cake for you?

Things to think about…

1. You spend the first two years of their life teaching them to walk and talk. Then you spend the next sixteen telling them to sit down and shut up.

2. Grandchildren are God’s reward for not killing your own children.

3. Mothers of teens now know why some animals eat their young.

4. Children seldom misquote you. In fact, they usually repeat word for word what you shouldn’t have said.

5. The main purpose of holding children’s parties is to remind yourself that there are children more awful than your own.

6. We child proof our homes, but they are still getting in.

Advice for the day: Be nice to your kids. THey will choose your nursing home one day.

And finally, If you have a lot of tension and you get a headache, do what it says on the aspirin bottle, “Take two aspirin and keep away from children.”

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

