Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

It’s all about Moms

Leave a comment


If you didn’t notice this morning our normally punctual blog post did not appear. There is a very good explanation as to why. I was waiting to have the full Plymouth Mom experience prior to delving into this.

Moms…

I gotta say it, as the straight shooter I am, at Plymouth we are appreciated, relished, reveled. And if you ever need a boost of, “You are doing okay,” this is the place to be.

I have not laughed and cried so much in one sermon. And all the Moms, as well as Grandma’s and Great Grandma’s, came up to read, share, celebrate. The only thing, cough cough, next time gentlemen, you should provide the treats. Just saying.

So, I’m going to take advantage of my position as blog guru and hijack the Plymouth site to praise God’s Moms for the next few posts. I will consider giving equal leave to the Dads come June.

Pastor Bill, ” In the arms of our mother is one of the sweetest places on earth. The great thing about this is that a Mother always wants to be close by to hold her children, especially when they are hurting. Think of Jesus in his greatest moment of pain…where was his mother. At the foot of the cross, doubtless with her arms yearning to hold him.”

Bill’s effervescent eyes expressed the words he shed, “I miss my Mom. In 1985, three years after her passing, on Christmas morning I finally realized just how much I missed her. I had already cried tears, but for some reason, on this particular day my arms hurt here and here (point to the crux of each arm that allow full enveloping of another being) and I wept.”

Not a dry eye sat in the house as he spoke such tender words of remembrance. As his own emotions nearly took over for him and crumpled his knees to the carpet, Bill remained steadfast and he ventured forth, to allow his own humility to cascade over the congregation as a water fall over rocks in a pond.

Bill, “Yes, in the arms of our mother is one of the sweetest places on earth. Why? Because:

1. IT WAS ORDAINED OF GOD

God created woman as a “man with a womb.”
Your mother was created by God to equip and nurture you.
God gave her what you 
would need to survive. 

Remember all that God showed Mary about her child!
It was all God’s plan.
He has a plan for you too.

John 19:
25 Now there stood by the cross of Jesus His mother, 
and His mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene.
26 When Jesus therefore saw His mother, and
 
the disciple whom He loved standing by, He said to His mother, “Woman, behold your son!”
27 Then He said to the
 
disciple, “Behold your mother!” And from that hour that disciple took her to his own home. (NKJV)

So here, I will wrap today’s blog post with one of many to come recitations about Moms. Each post will carry another piece of Pastor’s sermon dabbed with readings from the congregation.

There is truly, for me, nothing more special than being a Mom. I have said, many times over, that if reincarnation exists I want to come back as a woman again so I can be a Mom. It is the most blessed part of my life, and if I didn’t have my three wild, obnoxious, crazy, wonderful boys, I’d never know just how great life is. And I do owe a huge debt of gratitude to God for bringing them to me.

Arlene: Creating a Mom

When the good Lord was creating mothers He was into His 6th day of “overtime” when the angel appeared and said, “You’re doing a lot of fiddling around on this one.”

And the Lord said, “Have you read the specifications on this order?”
She has to be completely washable but not plastics…
Have 18- movable parts … all replaceable…
Run on black coffee and leftovers…
Have a lap that disappears when she stands up…
A kiss that can cure anything from a broken leg to a disappointed love affair…
And 6 pairs of hands.”

The angel shook her head slowly and said, “6 pairs of hands, no way!”

“It’s not the hands that are causing me the problems,” said the Lord, “It’s the three pairs of eyes that Mother’s have to have.”

“That’s in the standard model?” asked the angel.

The Lord nodded. “One pair that sees through closed doors when she asks ‘What are you kids doing in there?’ when she already knows. Another here, in the back of her head, that sees what she shouldn’t but what she has to know, and of course the ones here, in front, so that she can look at a child when he goofs and says, ‘I undertand and I love you’ without so much as uttering a word.”

“Lord,” said the angel touching his sleeve gently, “come to bed. Tomorrow…”

“I can’t,” said the Lord, “I’m so near to creating something so close to myself. Already I have one that heals herself when she is sick, can feed a family of six on one pound of hamburger, and can get a 9 year old to stand under a shower.”

The angel circled the model of a Mother very slowly. “It’s too soft,” she sighed.

“But tough!” said the Lord excitedly. “You cannot imagine what this Mother can do or endure.”

“Can it think?”

“Not only think, but it can reason and compromise,” said the Creator.

Finally, the angel bent over and ran a finger across the cheek. “There’s a leak,” she pronounced. “I told you You were trying to put too much into this model.”

“It’s not a leak,” said the Lord. “It’s a tear.”

“What’s it for?”

“It’s for joy, sadness, disappointment, pain, loneliness, and pride.”

“You are a genius,” said the angel.

The Lord looked somber, “I didn’t put it there…”

Please stay tuned for more 🙂

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

