Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

My Epiphany – circa 2010

Leave a comment


We all know what Jesus looks like. He’s a white man, yea tall, thin, with long, curly hair and a beard with mustache. His hair is brown. His skin is olive complexion and tanned. Eyes are also brown. Just to help you along here’s a picture of what Jesus looks like:

And for more try this link:

I know what you are thinking. How come not all of these images look as I described? What is this I am playing at with showing images that are blasphemy?

Genesis 1:27 “So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.”

One day, last summer, I was outside working pulling weeds. It was a warm day. All was quiet. My two older boys must have been at summer camp and Zach napping since I was alone. I recall Scott was in his office working, one of the rare occasions he was home during the week. Now I have two places where I really spend time thinking: in the shower and in the garden. What brought me to the thoughts I was having I do not recall, but I do recall running inside so excited over my epiphany and the reception from Scott being less than I had hoped. Regardless of his reaction I am still finding my new insight to be profound. May not be shared by all but than again maybe.

I can recall hearing time and again controversy over what some people consider inappropriate images of Jesus. (Here is just one of the many links available to such stories ) I’ve heard that Asian images, black images, female images are all wrong and should not exist. And here is where things became clear for me. God created man in his own image! For me what that means is that every image that exists today is an image of God thus cannot be wrong. Each of us shares a feature in common with one another. Maybe it is eye color, cheekbones, mouth shape, hair, nose, and every single one of us is created in his image thus it would go to say that every image created by God’s image would be an accurate display of Jesus as he was created in God’s image too.

And who are we white American’s to say that our image is the “right” and “only” image that should exist. Wasn’t he born in Israel? From the images I have seen most Israeli’s are deep colored in their skin, dark brown hair (not these light shades), some are depicted as black while others do bare much lighter skin tones as most American’s. In there one would obviously conclude that his skin was a deeper olive color not light. And his eyes would have been a deep brown not light or even blue as some images portray. Would he have shaved and let his hair grow long? Check out this very interesting link (. In here we are reminded that for Jesus to have long hair it would have been a sin. Does that make our Americanized version of Jesus blasphemy?

I think that as long as we remember why we make an image of Jesus, Christ, God, and that we do so to depict our love and affection that there is no wrong image. That each one of us, just like each image, is to reflect to our Father who art in heaven, our servitude. Here my heart opened up and my mind became clear. Every man, woman, child is born in God’s image. The tall, short, fat, thin, healthy, weak, is all an image of God. This is not to be confused by our acts as those can be infiltrated by evil forces, ones that are used to create hurt, but these people were also created in God’s image they’ve just moved away from his spirit.

So the next time you see an image of Jesus that you think is portrayed inaccurately, ask yourself, in what light was it created, before passing judgment that it is all wrong.

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

