Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

“You May Not Finish This Sermon…”

1 Comment


Admittedly I was really tired in church yesterday, but thankfully present enough to fully understand what Pastor Bill was sharing in his sermon. His words resonate through the walls of my home near daily. With a husband that has spent more flight hours than some pilots, and now more road hours than most commuters, I understand the full meaning that life can change as quickly as we exhale. When I send my son to school I hear the sirens that greeted parents to Columbine High School so many years ago, and I temper any negative energy to express how much I love my child before he leaves. In the grand scheme I know God is with him and see’s each child, each member of my family, be them close or distant, and walks with them.

Pastor Bill brought James 4:13–14 into his sermon. It was his reference at just how small we are in the grand scheme of things, like the vapor from an empty bottle of prune juice. Here I will beg to differ with Pastor Bill. This is the first time I have felt, from my perspective, that our opinions differ. We all have our own viewpoints, that is one of the things that makes life so interesting.

I may be small but I carry a really big stick. Okay, I suppose that maybe Pastor Bill is right in the fact that globally I am small. Where I disagree is that I have to live as a small person. I believe that everything I do can make a huge impact on the world. If I didn’t, and many of those out there making such huge successes today believed they were so small on the grand scale, we wouldn’t afford ourselves the effort for participating in change.

I see Mother Theresa as a huge example of the power of one person. As I think of her I also think of Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Serena and Venus Williams, Christopher Paolini, Michael Scott, Al Gore, Ghandi, Martin Luther King, Jr., Rosa Parks and the hundreds of others who carried their aspirations forth and made nationally, even global changes. The list of single individuals with dreams, hopes and aspirations of changing the world whether through story books or education on God to climate change, teaches us that we are not so small. They were but a small person under God’s tutelage, but they were giants among men on this Earth.

No one person will ever be bigger than God. That I will not dispute. And no one person can be larger than a planet. But one person can change how the world revolves. And time and again we see that through portholes of people’s imaginations that are encouraged to expand beyond the four walls of their bedroom to be seen by the world at large.

I tell my kids every chance I can to put themselves into a position where the world will come to them instead of trying to make it in the world. There are so many people to compete with that to stand above the majority will make their lives so much easier as adults. Be outstanding. Grasp at straws because eventually the straw can turn to gold. Never see yourself as just a speck but as the special person God made and step forward assured that for every time you fall you can get back up and try again. In your efforts you will find success.

So, sorry Pastor Bill, but I believe that by raising my kids with God in their lives, with peace in their hearts, with love under their finger nails, and intelligence in their head, I am a gigantic speck among the little specks just floating through this all to short of life. And even if I am small, you’ll never see me accepting that as my outlook. As it pertains to God’s love, in that I too believe he see’s each of his children as larger than life. Unique and special individuals that is granted his daily full love and support.

Of course this is just my humble perspective.

Blessings to all.

Author: bkbites

Stay at home Mom of 3 boys, 1 goofy dog, 2 wickedly crazy cats, and a traveling husband. Ah, what can be better? It's a full life without a doubt.

One thought on ““You May Not Finish This Sermon…”

  1. I believe the woman who was used to lead Billy Graham to Christ accomplished more than all the people you listed combined. Through her witness to Mr Graham, his witness has literally reached the world and led possibly thousands to seek salvation through Jesus Christ. I don’t know if it is true, but the story is that Dr Graham is the only person she ever led to Christ. But what an impact that one had!

    Any social justice achieved by Dr King, no matter how influential it has been in our country’s brief history, pales in comparison to that. The reason it pales is that Dr King’s work, like all of mans’ work, is only temporary. “Heaven and Earth shall pass away…” (Luke 24:35) and everything discovered and created by man will pass with it. The first chapter of Ecclesiates furthers this thought and culminates in verse 11 with “We don’t remember what happened in the past, and in future generations, no one will remember what we are doing now.” (New Living Translation) Mathew 6:20 has additional comments about a focus on Earth versus a focus on eternity.

    In the grand scheme, living a life of 75 years may be more comfortable because of the technology that Bill Gates influenced, or more positive because of the social justice fought for by people like Rosa Parks, but living an eternity outside of God’s presence makes those few years of comfort truly look like seconds. Like that vapor.

    I agree with raising a child to see their potential, in Christ, and to seek to follow God’s will where it will lead. I am not saying that kids should be raised with a view that their behavior and choices don’t matter here on Earth because their time is brief. Just saying that their choices/behavior on Earth that have weight are the ones that point people to Christ.

    Outside of scripture, I think the brevity of man’s work is very well capture by the poet Percy Bysshe Shelly.

    OZYMANDIAS

    I met a traveller from an antique land
    Who said: Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
    Stand in the desert. Near them, on the sand,
    Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown
    And wrinkled lip, and sneer of cold command
    Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
    Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
    The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed.
    And on the pedestal these words appear:
    “My name is Ozymandias, king of kings:
    Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!”
    Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
    Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare
    The lone and level sands stretch far away.

    “Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!” – at first an invitation to admire the kingdom (Ozymandias was a Pharoah – one of the Ramses) built. A kingdom which, at the time of the poem, had long since faded from the history books. All that was left was a broken statue. The reality of a man’s brevity truly something for the mighty to despair over!

    Sarah M.

Leave a Reply

