Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Life on the Vine …

Leave a comment


Just a little note for Plymouth readers:  This past week we reached a milestone with our blog.  Since the blog was begun, about one year ago this week, we have had 3,000 views!  Other blogs probably reached that number more quickly than we did, but I think it’s pretty good for our little blog.  Remember – if you’d like to write a blog, please feel free to do so – just let me know via the comments section.

During Pastor Bill’s message yesterday, he said a line that caught my attention:  “Life on the Vine.”  When I heard those words, my first thought was that it would be a catchy name for a blog in that it was a good description of our lives if we are connected to God.

In John 15:5,  Jesus tell us, “I am the vine, you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me, you can do nothing.”  Another version reads, “I am the true vine and my Father is the gardener.  He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.”

“Life on the Vine” … If we think in terms of the above verse, we are all individual branches going out in different directions, yet attached to the same vine which sustains us all.  We all have different talents by which we can share with others our common belief in God and Jesus.  However, without that connection to God, we can do nothing.

“Life on the Vine” … Being connected to God involves believing that God is our gardener and that Jesus is the true vine … the Son of Man, the Bread of Life, the Light of the World, the Good Shepherd, the Resurrection and the Life, the Way, the Truth and the Life, the Alpha and Omega, the Beginning and the End (All of those “I AM’s” for those of you who have been at Plymouth the last couple of weeks. 🙂  

“Life on the Vine” … Being connected to God doesn’t mean our lives will be easy.  As Nick Vujcic, (Lifewithoutlimbs.org) says, “our circumstances may not change, but when God does bring us through our trials, there will be others going through the same thing who will look to you with hope.  If you are praying for a miracle … if God doesn’t give you a miracle … you can be a miracle for someone else.”

“Life on the Vine” … is to live our lives in ways that leave us open to the paths that God wants our “branches” to go … to listen to his direction.  He holds us in the palm of his hand … he’s got a plan for each one of us … and he’s got the details all worked out.

“Life on the Vine” … Because of God’s “I AM’s,” we can say:

I AM … loved.
I AM … forgiven.
I AM … redeemed.
I AM … a child of God.

Leave a Reply

