Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

A little kindness …

1 Comment


Pay It Forward

The above blog was featured as one of the best on wordpress.com the other day.  We’ve talked before about how little acts of kindness can make someone’s day.  I liked her story, so I thought I would share.  After reading her article, let us know if you’ve done some random act of kindness lately and what was the outcome, of if you’ve been on the receiving end of one of those little “gifts.”

As I was on my morning walk around my subdivision, it had just started to lightly rain.  An older woman had just come out of her house and was going to get her newspaper lying on the far end of her driveway.  Since I was closer, I just reached down, picked it up, smiled and told her that I would save her a few steps.  She looked at me and smiled and said, “How did you know that I was hurting so bad this morning?”  And then I noticed that she was walking as if her back was bothering her.  A little act, but one that was appreciated, and it brightened the day of two people …

 

One thought on “A little kindness …

  1. Isn’t that the greatest thing when you can be a servant to someone else! I try to do that as often as I can. It can be as simple as stopping in the halls at the hospital when I see someone who looks lost or confused and ask them if I can help them find something – and then walking with them to their destination. Or it can be as easy as noticing a lonely old man in the cafeteria, obviously flustered by a place he’d never been in before, and helping him find a tray, the silverware, the coffee machine, and then leaving $10 with the cashier to pay for his meal when he finally made it through the line (long after I had left).

    Try it – you’ll like it!

Leave a Reply

