Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Don’t Blink!

2 Comments


Have you ever heard the Kenny Chesney song, “Don’t Blink?”  I don’t know if it’s because I’m on the other side of 50 now, or that my daughter will soon become a mother herself, or the recent rainy days are making me gloomy, but this song struck a chord with me. (Pardon the bad pun!)

Read the words to the song …

I turned on the evening news
Saw an old man being interviewed
Turning a hundred and two today
Asked him what’s the secret to life?
He looked up from his old pipe
Laughed, and said, “All I can say is

Don’t blink, just like that you’re six years old
And you take a nap
And you wake up and you’re twenty-five
And your high school sweetheart becomes your wife

Don’t blink, you just might miss
Your babies growing like mine did
Turning into moms and dads

Next thing you know your better half
Of fifty years is there in bed
And you’re praying God takes you instead
Trust me friend a hundred years
Goes faster than you think, so don’t blink.

 I was glued to my TV, when it looked
Like he looked at me and said
“best start putting first things first” 

‘cause when your hourglass runs out of sand
you can’t flip it over and start again
take every breath God gives you for what its worth 

So I’ve been trying to slow it down
“I’ve been trying to take it in
In this ‘here today, gone tomorrow’ world we’re living in

The words to this song may have resonated with me because I spent a couple of days this past weekend with a woman whose life is most likely coming to an end shortly.  She won’t get to see her daughter get married or her grandchildren.  She won’t get to enjoy her retirement.  She may never live in her own home again. And she still is a young woman.  

As I get older, the definition of “young” correlates to my age!  How can it be that I am this age already?  Where has time gone?

The Bible has a few things to say about the length of our lives.  James 4:14 says, “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”  Psalm 39:5 tells us “My life is no longer than the width of my hand.  An entire lifetime is just a moment to you; human existence is but a breath.”

I’m not trying to depress every one, but … have we lived meaningful lives?  Will we have time to accomplish all those things on our list of things to do?  Are we taking the time to enjoy our spouses, our families, the beauty all around us? Are we living the lives God meant for us to live?  If not, what’s holding us back?

Kenny Chesney : Don’t Blink
Songwriters: Beathard, Casey Michael; Wallin, Chris Allen
2 thoughts on “Don’t Blink!

  1. From my personal experiences with losing loved ones I can tell you life is short and we have very little control over it.

    The good news is that God is in control of it all. We can trust him. God gives us the resources to enjoy life here on earth by giving glory to Him.

    Enjoy everyday. It is truly a blessing!

  2. Wow; another great post!

    I too have looked in to the face of the elderly and to the young. I have taken my bucket list and torn it up as I have found that the “Things” on the list are just that, “Things”.

    I have found that the most important things in this world are not things but people and the deeds we do to and for them.

    Yes, enjoy each and every moment and those who make up your world as it is just a breath in time!

Leave a Reply

