Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Maybe We Just Aren’t Meant to Understand

3 Comments


As I was running errands the other day, I noticed a sign outside a church that said, “Some questions can’t be answered by Google.”  I thought that was kind of clever, but didn’t really think too much about it.  But as I was working on the blog posts for this week under the general topic of “hard to understand Bible passages,” this little quote came back to me. 

We can spend a lot of time trying to understand what a certain passage means, or why tragedy strikes, or why certain things happen to certain people.  Maybe we just aren’t meant to understand, as this poem suggests: 

THE MASTER WEAVER’S PLAN

My life is but a weaving
Between the Lord and me;
I may not choose the colors–
He knows what they should be.

For He can view the pattern
Upon the upper side
While I can see it only
On this, the under side.

Sometimes He weaves in sorrow,
Which seems so strange to me;
But I will trust His judgment
And work on faithfully.

‘Tis He who fills the shuttle,
And He knows what is best;
So I shall weave in earnest,
And leave to Him the rest.

Not ’til the loom is silent
And the shuttles cease to fly
Shall God unroll the canvas
And explain the reason why.

The dark threads are as needed
In the Weaver’s skillful hand
As the threads of gold and silver
In the pattern He has planned.

~~ Author Unknown ~~

 Author Gary Kurz, in his article “Difficult Passages in the Bible,” states “There really are no difficult passages. There is just a lack of understanding of those passages. This can be remedied through faithful study.  In keeping with all the other passages that tell us to “study”, “prepare” or “learn”, we are told to “grow in grace”. The only way to grow in grace is to read the manual (the Bible) faithfully and consistently, building ourselves up in knowledge and understanding.”

 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, sayeth the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” 
Isaiah 55:8

 

Difficult Passages in the Bible by Gary Kurz

3 thoughts on “Maybe We Just Aren’t Meant to Understand

  1. I know someone who has to find the “deeper, hidden meaning” in everything – a dream is never a dream, it MUST mean something. I don’t think I have that drive to know everything either …

  2. The “program” followers talk about “acceptance” in areas of their life that they can’t control. How many people spin their wheels trying to figure out this or that, including why God is doing this, not doing that, allowing stuff to happen to them, etc. The constant questioning and quest for answers/information says that we are able to know if we just look long enough, etc. because we are so smart.

    I’ve always said I’m a rather simple person from an intellectual point of view. I just don’t have this drive to understand every single thing, explain everything, etc. Isaiah 55:8 might be the best reminder and maybe I’ve unknowingly lived by this for most of my life.

  3. This is the reason that I believe the entire Bible, cover to cover. I do not understand all of it I just believe it! Heck, I even believe the cover!

Leave a Reply

