Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Today’s Gonna’ be a Good, Good Day …

2 Comments


Ok.  I’ll admit it.  I’m irritable.  I’ve been in a little bit of a “funk” the last week or so.  Part of it has to do with the fact that I (and thousands of others) have been waiting since last fall for “next year” with regards to our beloved Cubbies.  And what do they do … before their home opener, they manage to lose their first two games.  Then yesterday, while driving, I watched as two robins flew into the side of a truck.  One did not make it to chirp another day.

And then last night, I tried to purchase a purse and a change purse.  Although I tried, I could not find one little purse of the type I wanted that had a price on it.  But on the display table, under all the purses, were sales tags that said, $9.99.  Good chance that the purse I wanted was that price, wouldn’t you think?  The larger purse was originally $40, but on sale for $24.   After standing in line for about 10 minutes – 1 check out girl who was doing her best – it was finally my turn.  The clerk was ringing up my other purchases when lo and behold, the little purse is $30!  I explained the tag situation, and then commented that how could the little purse be almost as much as the larger purse??  As the price really seemed to be $30, I decided against that purchase.  Then she rings up the larger purse, which comes up at the original $40.  Long story short, it turns out they had an out-dated sales sign on the purse rack, but they ended up giving me the sale price anyway. I should have been happy to get the sales price, but was irritated instead that I was the one that went back and forth … and back and forth … to show that the purse was actually advertised for this price.

Is any of this really important?  No.  But I realized that, while not complaining outloud (well, not too much, anyway), I’ve been complaining a lot in my head.  And it’s time to stop.

Today, I leave for a little overnight trip involving genealogy that I’ve been looking forward to for a while now.  I’ve got my stack of CD’s ready for the road trip, the birds were singing early this morning, and it is supposed to be a nice, sunny day. And I am going to challenge myself to a complaint-free weekend.  I am going to be on the look-out for “good” things – things that make me smile, or make me appreciate God’s handiwork.  To change the words of the Black-Eyed Peas song just a little, “I’ve got a feeling, that today’s gonna’ be a good, good day” …

2 thoughts on “Today’s Gonna’ be a Good, Good Day …

  1. I did have a great weekend! Lots of positives … I love driving on a sunny day, had Garmin to tell me how to go and when I’d get there, the spring trees were flowering in downtown Springfield which made everything very pretty, learned a lot in my class (from Plainfield Librarian Tina B.), 2 red cardinals flew in front of my car on the interstate to add a moment of bright color, listened to a bunch of old CD’s that I haven’t listened to in a long time, was NOT one of the many drivers stopped for speeding, 🙂 etc. And I don’t think I had any “complaining” moments in my head or otherwise … which I admit is a bit easier to accomplish when you are away doing something fun and away from the “daily grind.”

  2. Very observant and introspective. Maybe it’s not possible to avoid “complaining” even in our own heads. I’m sure we can improve, but hey we’re humans. I’m with you on the positive thinking! I’m with you on the looking for the good things! But maybe the best we can do is listen to Jesus – John 16:33 “…In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration, but be of good cheer….”

    Have a great weekend. Let your frustrations simply be a reminder to be of good cheer and that God uses all these issues for his glory.

Leave a Reply

