Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Will you take this challenge?

4 Comments


My daughter and I were watching a basketball game last week.  I can’t remember what happened, but it caused her to reel off a few lines from the movie “Billy Madison.”  She and her brother often quote lines from movies.  From time-to-time, I’ve noticed people doing the same thing on Facebook.  How do they remember all of that?  Of course, they’re much younger, but still?  

I’ve been thinking lately that I should try harder to commit more scripture to memory.  As Pastor Bill said a week or so ago in a sermon – “Just get it up there (pointing to his brain) and eventually it will work its way to here (pointing to his heart). 

 But I’m thinking at this stage of the game, the most I might remember is the verse “Jesus wept!”  That commercial, “I want my brain back!” definitely applies to me!  All that I have in my memory bank are the verses, etc. I learned as a youth. 

This can be your challenge for this week – to commit one or two verses to memory.  Maybe even leave a comment today sharing with the rest of us the  verses you intend to memorize.  Then on Friday post whether or not you have been successful.

4 thoughts on “Will you take this challenge?

  1. This is posted on Friday, 2/26, and I promise – I did it from memory! 🙂

    “I know what it is to be in need and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well-fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”
    Philippians 4:12-13

    Bill – how’d you do with your verse?

    The thing is, check back with me in a week or so and see if I still remember this verse! 🙂

  2. CARON:

    And here is my verse for the week: “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. (Philip 4.12-13)

  3. “Well done, good and faithful servant!” Matthew 25:24

    I read this verse and explanation in Max Lucado’s “It’s Not About Me”. It stuck with me being these are the words we hope to hear when we get to heaven. I don’t get hung up on memorizing the verses word for word since there are so many translations, I imagine I must be hitting one correctly in my recall.

  4. Here is my verse that I will try to commit to memory!

    The Prayer of Jabez comes from 1 Chronicles 4:10: “And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that Thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that Thine hand might be with me, and that Thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me! And God granted him that which he requested.”

Leave a Reply

