Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

The Beginning and the End

1 Comment


This photo appeared on another blog, BlessingsfromZion.wordpress.com, and I am posting it here with the permission of its’ author, Bonnie Saul Wilks.
And most of this post was taken from Pastor Bill’s message on January 31st.

What was your first thought when you looked at this photo?  When I first saw it, I thought “life and death.”  But after Pastor Bill’s message on Sunday, the words “beginning and end” kept coming to mind. 

His message was entitled, “Of Course I Believe in God!”  That was his answer he would give “years ago if anyone happened to ask me if I believed in God. Who wouldn’t believe in God, for goodness sakes?”  He went on to say that if we didn’t believe in what the Bible had to say at the very beginning, how could we possibly believe it’s ending? 

“God makes Himself known to us through the Bible. What I believe about God can be determined at the very beginning of the Bible in the book of Genesis. Do I accept as truth the account of creation as it is recorded? This determines everything else that I either accept or reject as truth. God doesn’t ask you and me to believe in Him, but to believe Him. ”

How do we believe God?  Here are a couple of ways . . .
Believe that He is who He says He is.  Revelation 1:8 states, “I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End, says the Lord God, He who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty (the ruler of all.)
Believe that He can do what He says He can do. “I myself will tend my sheep and have them lie down, declares the Sovereign Lord.  I will search for the lost and bring back the strays.  I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak, but the sleek and the strong I will destroy.  I will shepherd the flock with justice.”  (Ezekiel 34:15-16)  “I am leaving you with a gift – peace of mind and heart.  And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give.  So don’t be troubled or afraid.”  (John 14:27)

Believing God is a personal choice . . . what will you choose?

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Beginning and the End

  1. Sarah and I took a theology class a number of years ago and one of the most memorable things the Pastor teaching it said was “whether you believe the Bible and what it says or you believe in evolution and that God doesn’t exist it has to be a leap of FAITH either way”. Since I didn’t live in Biblical time I have to rely on my faith. Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

Leave a Reply

