Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

“Everything that irritates you . . .”

1 Comment


From time-to-time I share one of those “On this day, God wants you to know” messages that I get on facebook.  Usually I like what they have to say – I find them to be encouraging.  But I got one the other day that has been bothering me.  Here it is:

“ . . . that everything that irritates you about others, is your key to understanding yourself. What angers you in another person is an unhealed aspect of yourself. If you had already resolved that particular issue, you would not be irritated by its reflection back to you.”

I have heard this basic message before somewhere, and I don’t think I ever got it quite worked out in my mind then, either.  I would be interested in hearing what you think about this statement.

One thought on ““Everything that irritates you . . .”

  1. I have avoided reading and really pondering this topic for a few days. In a quick scan of the traits/things I don’t like in folks I come up with some scary issues that I hate to consider are a big part of me: judgementalism, negativity, taking themselves too seriously, unforgiveness, holding grudges, …

    I’ll have to make time to really give this thought. If I were to present my list to some trusted friends and get them to genuinely assess me by the traits I find in others I might get a clearer picture of how others see me. I’m a master at self deception when I don’t want the truth.

Leave a Reply

