Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

We Are the Hands of Christ

1 Comment


In Pastor Bill’s written report – “The Power of One” – for our Annual Meeting yesterday, he wrote about how God, when there was work to be done on earth, often chose an individual to get his work started and accomplished.  (Think Abraham, Moses, Joshua, Samuel, Mary, Peter, Paul, etc.) 

He quoted Edward Everett Hale, “I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do every-thing, I will not refuse to do something that I can do.” 

On the front cover of our Annual Report were these words:   ” We are his only witnesses.  God is counting on each of us.  No angel has been given the job. We are the lanterns; Christ is the light inside.”  (Oleta Spray) 

The other day, I ran across a post on a blog called “Blessings from Zion,” called “Simple, Small and Significant.”    The writer posted what I thought was a very good photo featuring a loaf of challah or twisted Sabbath bread. She called it a “visible sign of kindness” as this bread was left for the poor near a local garbage dumpster.  At the end of her blog she stated, “It’s simple, small, and significant; and it blesses everyone–the giver and receiver–even me, the spectator who is now inspired to give in new ways.” 

I was reminded of those commercials, for an insurance company I think, where somebody stops a pedestrian from stepping into traffic, which someone else sees, and then we see that person performing an act of kindness which is then seen by another . . . and so on. 

It is up to each of us to make a difference, whether in large or small ways.  With the beginning of a new year, why not commit to finding a way, or ways, to make a difference.  For as Beth Palm stated in the Upper Room:  “We are the hands of Christ.”

One thought on “We Are the Hands of Christ

  1. Great post! I can’t agree more…we need to do something, anything in order to move beyond status quo in our lives, our faith, our ministry, our church growth. The challenge I offend face as it relates to this is being content with the pace of results. The weight isn’t coming off as quick as I’d like, the speed on the bike isn’t fast enough, the support at church for doing things isn’t there, people don’t seem to be catching the vision so I’m doing this on all alone, etc.

    I guess if just a few of us make a commitment to do something and be persistent/consistent maybe we will get others on our “team” to join in and do just a little something extra with us.

Leave a Reply

