Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Does your faith “shine?”

2 Comments


I really like my “daily messages from God,” via the site “On this day, God wants you to know.”  I know I can find these same messages in the Bible if I would just look for them, but some of the quotes come on days when I really do need to hear that particular message, and silly as it seems, I feel like God is really speaking to me through these daily messages.

Today’s message was: 

On this day, God wants you to know . . .

. . . “that faith is exactly what it takes to get through uncertainty. Faith is not necessary when you know how things are going to work out, – that’s knowledge. It’s in the time of unknowing that having faith is what sees you through to the other side. Faith is what gives you strength. Faith is that light in your heart that keeps on shining even when it’s all darkness outside.  Now is that time to keep that faith alive!” 

Some of us are going in to the New Year with the same problems we had in this past year.  Do we have faith that 2010 will bring us change, that our circumstances will be better?  Do we still have faith that God is on our side, that he is always with us? 

Pastor Bill mentions quite often that we need to “let our light shine.”  Can you share any instances where the light of your faith has made a difference to anyone else, or brought a special experience to you?

This week on our blog we will be talking about faith, making changes in our lives, etc.  Have you been thinking of making any New Years’ resolutions or have you broken enough of them over the years that you aren’t even going to bother making any this year? On Thursday, New Year’s Eve, we will ask you to share your resolutions.

2 thoughts on “Does your faith “shine?”

  1. Lance

    This came up on my facebook page today under the messages I get from “Give a Little:”

    “Remember, there is no such thing as a small act of kindness. Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.” Scott Adams

  2. I can’t specifically think of an instance where my “light of faith” has made a difference to anyone else. Two factors that come to mind on why I don’t know of any situation 1) I have a horrible memory at some things 2) I suspect that my impact on another might not have ever been mentioned to me. In general I think most of us simply go about our business and really don’t let others get to know us intimately by openly sharing our “true” selves. I know that in my life I’ve more often not shared with another person how their example of faith has provided me with just that little extra to get through the rough spot. Rarely have I really reached out to someone beyond immediate family in my most difficult of times for guidance, etc. In these instances we are cutting off opportunities for God to work through others in our lives.

    One exception is a certain pastor and the impact he’s had in my walk. When I first met him I instantly knew that he was someone that God intended to me to draw upon in His plans for me. His testimony provides encouragement, hope and love that still challenges me to grow in spirit.

Leave a Reply

