Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Are you happy with yourself?

1 Comment


… that you are perfect as you are. God doesn’t create faulty life. No. Everything created by God is perfect, and so are you. So stop driving yourself mad with endless ways to improve, and just accept the glory of your being as is.” 

Well, that’s a tall order, don’t you think?  How many of us can say we are happy with the way we are? 

My gray hair means that I am getting older, but I secretly like my gray streaks.  (Although when I first noticed them I thought I had suddenly obtained blonde highlights! 🙂  My grandpa, who was one of my favorite people in the world, and my Dad both had / have the same streaks, so I’m kind of ok with having this link with them.  I do wish my memory was better, that I was taller, thinner, less judgemental, had more patience, was more forgiving and on and on.

BUT, I wish we could all just take one day to be happy with ourselves, and enjoy the life we have been given.  Yes, we all may have what we think are imperfections, but there is good in all of us, too.  Happily accept for one day that God has made you who you are! 

I would be interested in hearing back if anyone really tried to do this for a day, to see what impact it had on your attitude, or how it made the day go, etc.  It might also be interesting, if someone tells you they are unhappy with themselves for something, that you give them the above message and see what their reaction is . . .

One thought on “Are you happy with yourself?

  1. Quite a long time ago I had this talk with some friends of my first wife. While I wasn’t in Christ I’ve always had this sense that God doesn’t want us not constantly tear ourselves (we are created in His image) down to worldly standard. By doing that aren’t we saying God didn’t do good? It’s also a bit risky (IMO) to constantly be focused on flaws, etc. as that can become your way of life leading to sense of worthlessness. We have to be careful!

    That’s not to say I don’t believe in making the most of what God gave us (physical body, emotional self, spiritual life, etc.). Yes, take care of God’s temple in all ways so that we might live the fullest life that He has planned for us and honor Him. If you want to color your hair, do it as celebration of the canvas that God has given you! If you want to drop a few pounds to improve fitness, by all means get to it (you all know I like fitness)! I’ve had to do some serious house cleaning in my life, but that sort of dissatisfaction (with who I was) only produced good results when I came to realize it’s was for God’s purpose and not mine that I needed to renovate.

Leave a Reply

