Plymouth Congregational Church

God for All

Instant Connection

1 Comment


Our daily lives are filled with instant connections of all sorts . . . facebook, texting, e-mails, etc.  But how often during the day do we take advantage of the ultimate “instant connection” . . . talking with God? 

In the book of Nehemiah, it talks of how Nehemiah “spontaneously” prayed eight times. (Neh. 2:4, 4:4, 5 & 9, 5:19, 6:14, 13:14, 22 & 29).  My study Bible explained that Nehemiah knew he could “confidently pray throughout the day because he had established an intimate relationship with God during times of extended prayer.  And that God is always present, is always in charge and always hears every prayer.”

 Some may say that they don’t have time to pray, or are never in the “right” place to pray.  If Jonah can pray from inside the belly of a whale, the rest of us should be able to pray wherever we are!  Finding the time to pray is not always easy either, but we should always make an effort to do so – even if we have to get up very early in the morning.  Mark 1:35 says, “Jesus awoke long before daybreak and went out into the wilderness to pray.” 

I like to think of prayer as just an on-going conversation with God.  I can speak to him at anytime throughout the day, in earnest for very important requests, to say “thank you” when I see the stars in the night sky or a beautiful sunset.  God wants us to be instantly connected to him.  We are to “come boldly (or to come with reverence) to the throne of our gracious God.  There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it.”  (Hebrews 4:16) Or as my study Bible states, “Come also with bold assurance because he is your Friend and Counselor.”

One thought on “Instant Connection

  1. I’m finding all sorts of times to pray: behind the wheel of the car (eyes open of course), on my bike rides, when I pull up to the house (still in the car), in the shower, when I’m brushing my teeth, before bed, upon waking up, doing dishes, putting groceries away, mowing the lawn, waiting at the doctors office, waiting in line at Meijer, etc.

    I’ve come to the conclusion God doesn’t have to hear me always saying super deep, poetic, $20 words in my talks with Him. My sense is that He’s glad and glorified when I acknowledge Him by making it a priority to speak with Him.

Leave a Reply

